Anthology

anthology1I grew up listening to the music of Eraserheads. I’ve said that time and time again. Heck, I just can’t stop talking about them. Eheads’ music brings a certain sort of nostalgia and reminds me of my early childhood days. Eheads influenced me one way or another and they made me dream of becoming an artist myself. But apparently that dream would forever be a dream because I still don’t know how to play guitar and I don’t have my own band.lols.

Eraserheads’ first album UltraElectroMagneticPop! was released in July 1993. I was only eight years old that time. I remember myself singing Eheads’ songs while sitting on our makeshift duyan. lols. Eheads’ songs were the songs I’ve memorized next to the nursery rhymes taught in grade school.

LIGAYA
Ligaya was their first single. The song’s theme is for grown ups but young listeners enjoyed it as well. Perhaps, it’s because the song talks about the experiences of youngsters who are starting to make pa-cute.lols. Who would forget the line: “Tatlong oras na akong nagpapacute sa’yo, ‘di mo man lang napapansin ang bagong t-shirt ko?” The first single indeed brought ligaya to their fans.

ALAPAAP
As I was growing up Eheads had more hits and their songs dominated the local alternative music. Besides, their first album became six times platinum. Talking about hits, Alapaap is one of Eheads unforgettable songs. This even became controversial. I’d rather not talk about it here. On second thought, I’ll write it here in case you guys forgot what happened. hehe. A senator, Sotto if I’m not mistaken, wanted to ban the song because it promotes drug use according to him. Eheads expressed their side and defended that the song is instead an ode to freedom. This may be explained by the lyrics: Ang daming bawal sa mundo, sinasakal nila tayo. For me, Eheads themselves give fans the natural high.

MAGASIN
It wasn’t really expected that Eheads would be in Magasins and take the country’s music industry by storm. That is because they were rejected by some record labels before they got the chance to record their first album. Early 90’s was also dominated by pop bands. They didn’t belong to this category so starting up was not as easy as a pie for them. Eheads were even considered “not so pop” and “Pop U” became their response to those who didn’t like their music. One thing I liked about Eheads is that they break the conventions in OPM and they wrote original songs which became so-called anthems. In 1996, the first issue of the Ereaserheads official magazine Pillbox was released.

PARA SA MASA
I would say Eheads’ music is for the masa. Their songs are very catchy and their musical style is genuine. This, I think, endeared their music to the public and all of their songs captivated the hearts of many Pinoys. Para Sa Masa is Eheads’ tribute to their fans who accepted and appreciated their music. This song expresses how grateful they are to their fans. “Naaalala nyo pa ba? Binigyan namin kayo ng ligaya” states how they wanted to entertain us through the music that they play.

HARD TO BELIEVE
Eheads shocked their fans when Ely announced that he will be playing his last gig in March 2002. I really didn’t expect that Ely would quit that early since they just released the album Carbon Stereoxide in 2001. Hard To Believe is one of Eheads’ sad songs and I could really describe it as emo. And that could perfectly express the way their fans felt when Ely left the band. Many Pinoys shed tears and became emotional when Eheads disbanded. I was also saddened to hear the news. That was indeed Hard To Believe.

KAILAN

Since the band’s last gig, people have been asking kailan? People were clamoring for a reunion concert and that finally happened last August 3o, 2oo8 when Eheads found themselves on the same stage again. That Kailan was finally given an answer but unfortunately the concert had to be cut short because of Ely’s condition. Fans can’t really get enough of Eheads so they still asked for another concert. Eheads love their fans so they we will give us what we want. I’m sure fans are excited to watch the part 2 of the reunion concert called The Final Set tonight.

ANG HULING EL BIMBO

This might the last time that Ely Buendia, Buddy Zabala, Marcus Adoro, and Raymund Marasigan would perform together. I heard Ely even confirmed that this would be their last concert. As much as we would like to see them perform together, they all have their offshoot bands; Ely is with Pupil, Raymund is with Sandwich, Buddy is with The Dawn, and Marcus is with Markus Highway. They all moved on and Eheads days are over. They are down to their last concert.

As of this writing, Eheads fans are already in the concert venue jamming with the Eheads. Actually, my officemate Marche just texted me saying “Grabe! hayop talaga ang Eheads!” Geez, I want to freak out. I also didn’t make it to their first reunion concert. I’m still unfortunate this time. I wanted to watch the concert as my birthday gift for myself. But swerte is always not on my side.

I may not be able to watch another Eraserheads Reunion Concert but I would remain their fan. I’m listening to Anthology while I’m writing this entry. That makes me feel worse.lols. I won’t forget how they influenced me and how they made an essential contribution to the local alternative music. Eheads is one of the best things to happen in the entire Pinoy music history. Rak on!

Explore posts in the same categories: Music, OPM, Pinoy Music

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Anthology”

  1. coolwaterworks Says:

    My favorite Ehead song is “Minsan”, then “With A Smile”… I was in high school when they were in their peak and these two songs reminded me of my high school life…. (parang mag-se-seguey kay Ate Shawie ah, hehehe…)

    Again welcome back Lex…

    Coolwaterworks

    @kuya mark: fave ko din ang mga yan kuya mark. actually lahat naman ng kanta fave ko eh. hehe. akala ko nga bigla kang magsi-segue sa kanta ni ate shawie. lols.

  2. lawstude Says:

    the best talaga ang band na yan. fave ko sa lahat ang with a smile tsaka hard to believe. sayang lang di ako nakapanood reunion concert nila pero wala na talaga makakapantay sa na accomplish ng grupo na to.

    @kuya oman: ako halos lahat ng kanta nila paborito ko. hehe. sayang nga kasi di tayo nakapanood ng reunion concert nila. yeah, da best talaga ang Eheads!

  3. brotherutoy Says:

    college na ako, este, highschool pala, nung una kong marinig ang e-heads. Toyang favorite ko dyan!

    tol, ang husay mo pala kapag serious writing. napahanga mo ako dito, pang-magasin ang dating! God bless.

    @broutoy: haha. parang di ka sure kung high school ka nun o college kuya utoy. hehe. fave ko din ang Toyang kasi maganda ang beat. wow! thanks sa compliment kuya utoy. na-touch my body ako dun at nagliver spread na rin hehe. thanks!

  4. Jorge Says:

    WOW! Pinabilib mo ko dun parekoi, alam mo lahat ng naging album nila?

    Galing galing!

    Base ba ko? toinks!

    @jorge: naks! salamat naman at napabilib kita parekoy. hehe. yung iba nakalimutan ko na pero may magasin ako na collector’s item kaya isang buklat lang maaalala ko rin. hehe. di ikaw ang base parekoy. naunahan ka. hehe

  5. azul Says:

    laloves ko din ang eheads…

    @azul: that’s good. i think everyone loves them!


  6. Thank God! This website is now accessible again ehehehe anyways….all I can say about the event? @#$#%$^%^&^*&^&(*(!@##% grbe tol! Milestone talaga! I’m glad I was there to be a part of OPM History….grabe!

  7. coolwaterworks Says:

    Aba, naka first base pala ako dito… hehehe… 🙂

  8. teresa Says:

    Alapaap at Spoliarium ang fave ko na E-heads songs..
    lumaki din ako sa songs nila, kasi ate ko paborito din sila..mga 3 yrs old ako nun.lols!

    wala talagang tatalo sa music nila.

  9. beero™ Says:

    @coolwaterworks: naka-first base ka nga dito kuya mark. hehe.

    @teresa: teka lang parang may mali eh. 3 years old? we were born in 1985. ala pang Eheads nung 1988 ah. liar! liar! lols.

  10. Basti Says:

    Sayang nga bro eh, pero sana di pa last.. anyway things could change.

    @basti: sana nga may part 3 pa ang reunion concert. hehe.

  11. Basti Says:

    1985 ka pala beero? ahaha kuya beero!!! sept. 1987 ako eh.

    @basti: yup. ahaha. ayan madagdagan pa ata ang mga tumatawag sa kin ng “kuya” sa blogosphere. tsk. hehe

  12. ced Says:

    nageemo ka pla habang tinatype tong entry na to! hehehe

    malay mo gumawa sila ng last album… kung may last concert… may last album! hehehe. juk!

    isa lang sa talong local bands na pinapakinggan ko ang E-heads. kasama ng side A at southborder! hehehe

    @ced: haha. oo halos maiyak pa ko. juk! haha. di na mangyayari yun. asa pa. hehe. gusto ko din ang southborder at side A. hehe

  13. rio Says:

    isa din ako sa mga humanga sa bandang eheads…super galing ng mga kanta nila..=D

    @rio: cheers marekoy! ehehe. ganda nga ng mga kanta nila. da best! woot!

  14. Myam Says:

    Okay. I cant’ find your ABOUT ME Page. I just wanted to say that I’ll miss you. Don’t be a stranger now. 😀

    @Myam: thanks yam. it has been a great experience working with you guys for more than a year. i couldn’t ask for better TLs than you guys. i promise i’ll keep in touch 😎

  15. dong ho Says:

    eheads is one of the most influtential pinoy bands. they will forever be.

    @dong ho: i agree kuya dong. we have so many bands today but no band could ever equal what Eheads have achieved.

  16. janel Says:

    gnda ng blogsite mo…:)very tru, actually i have an account on WP d q lng pinakelaman ng straight kc aq s tumblr(bubblegumcompassion.tumblr.com)

    keep it up!:))


Leave a Reply

